2019 GSU-RFS Fintech Conference

February 8-9, 2019 | Buckhead Center of Georgia State University in Atlanta, GA 


In recent years, FinTech, or financial technology, has been rapidly developing and reshaping business practices and the financial services industry. This has generated significant interest in advancing academic research in this important area. The Department of Finance, the Center for the Economic Analysis of Risk (CEAR), and the Institute for Insight at Georgia State University, together with the Review of Financial Studies (RFS) jointly host this conference on Current Research in FinTech. The RFS provided submitting authors with the opportunity for a dual-submission option. The conference program consists of 12 papers covering new and emerging topics in FinTech, including blockchain, cryptocurrencies, initial coin offerings (ICO), machine learning, and textual analysis. We hope to bring researchers active in these fields together, facilitate communications on frontier research, and advance further studies.

Program Officials

Program Chair: Baozhong Yang (Georgia State University)

Keynote Speaker: Andrew Karolyi (Cornell University)

Sponsoring Editor of the RFS: Wei Jiang (Columbia University)

Standing left to Right are professor Baozhong Yang, Andrew Karolyi and Wei Jiang
(Pictured L to R - Baozhong Yang, Andrew Karolyi, Wei Jiang)

Program Committee

  • Simona Abis (Columbia University) 
  • Vikas Agarwal (Georgia State University) 
  • Bruno Biais (Toulouse School of Economics) 
  • Markus Brunnermeier (Princeton University) 
  • Bruce Carlin (University of California at Los Angeles) 
  • Christian Catalini (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) 
  • Mark Chen (Georgia State University) 
  • Jonathan Chiu (Bank of Canada) 
  • Lauren Cohen (Harvard University) 
  • Will Cong (University of Chicago) 
  • Zhi Da (University of Notre Dame) 
  • Joseph Engelberg (University of California at San Diego) 
  • Maryam Farboodi (Princeton University) 
  • Joshua Gans (University of Toronto) 
  • Vincent Glode (University of Pennsylvania) 
  • Campbell Harvey (Duke University) 
  • Zhiguo He (University of Chicago) 
  • Gerard Hoberg (University of Southern California) 
  • Lixin Huang (Georgia State University) 
  • Gur Huberman (Columbia University) 
  • Bryan Kelly (Yale University) 
  • Omesh Kini (Georgia State University) 
  • Thorsten Koeppl (Queen’s University) 
  • Shimon Kogan (Massachusetts Institute of Technology and IDC Herzliya) 
  • Ye Li (Ohio State University)
  • Tim Loughran (University of Notre Dame)
  • Katya Malinova (University of Toronto) 
  • Gustavo Manso (University of California at Berkeley)
  • Narayan Naik (London Business School) 
  • Maureen O’Hara (Cornell University) 
  • Christine Parlour (University of California at Berkeley)
  • Christopher Parsons (University of Southern California) 
  • Manju Puri (Duke University) 
  • Tarun Ramadorai (Imperial College) 
  • Chip Ryan (Georgia State University) 
  • Kelly Shue (Yale University) 
  • Ajay Subramanian (Georgia State University) 
  • Katrin Tinn (Imperial College) 
  • Laura Veldkamp (New York University) 
  • Neng Wang (Columbia University) 
  • Andrew Wu (University of Michigan) 
  • Yusen Xia (Georgia State University) 
  • Baozhong Yang (Georgia State University) 
  • Vincent Yao (Georgia State University) 
  • Mao Ye (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign)
  • Xiaoyan Zhang (Purdue University and Tsinghua University) 
  • Guofu Zhou (Washington University at St. Louis)
  • Haoxiang Zhu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Program Details